Rahul Aurora Srinivasan


ATM Is God

I go to an ATM to draw Rs.10,000. It is not my bank's ATM, but is part of the network. I wait in the line. I get my turn. I swipe the card. I hit the PIN. I hit the amount, that is , Rs.10,000. It asks if I would like a printed receipt. I hit yes. The money comes out. I count it. It is Rs.3,000. The receipt comes out. It is for Rs.3000.

Since I need Rs.10,000 in total. I do the math. I swipe the card. again. I hit the amount, that is, Rs.7,000. It asks if I would like a printed receipt,again. I hit yes,again. The money comes out,again. I count it,again. It is Rs.3,000,again. The receipt comes out,again. It is for Rs.3,000 again.

Since I need Rs.10,000 in total. I do the math,again. I swipe the card. again. I hit the amount, that is, Rs.4,000. It asks if I would like a printed receipt,again. I hit yes,again. The money comes out,again. I count it,again. It is Rs.3,000,again. The receipt comes out,again. It is for Rs.3,000 again.

Since I need Rs.10,000 in total. I do the math,again. I swipe the card. again. I hit the amount, that is, Rs.1,000. It asks if I would like a printed receipt,again. I hit yes,again. The money comes out,again. I count it,again. It is Rs.3,000,again. The receipt comes out,again. It is for Rs.3,000 again.

So, instead of taking home Rs.10,000, I take Rs.12,000. Then I remembered what ATM means. Automated Teller Machines right. Do you know what they do? They TELL you how much money you need. So better listen to them

P.S. The said ATM is the machine to your right in the Syndicate Bank ATM outside Rail Nilayam, Secunderabad.